Delete guest user in SharePoint Online

Delete guest user in SharePoint Online

When a user or guest is in a SharePointsite, their user information is cached savedin the UserInfo list. When the user or guest is deleted, their related UserInfo information is not deleted. Their profile is still displayed, which may cause confusion when users search SharePoint.

So sometimes guest users remain active in SharePoint. Instructions for removal in this blog.

Deleting a guest via Azure Active Directory

Navigate to https://portal.azure.com

Delete the guest user

1

How do I delete a guest via Office 365 portal?

Guests can also be deleted via the normal Office 365 portal.

1

Remove via PowerShell

Connect-SPOService -Url https://yourtenantnamesharepoint.com -Credential $cred
$ExtUser = Get-SPOExternalUser -filter jondoe@fabrikam.com
Remove-SPOExternalUser -UniqueIDs @($ExtUser.UniqueId)

More information can be found here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/remove-users

Also read

These are the 10 most read articles of 365tips in 2021
How to customise your background with your own image in Microsoft Teams?

Jasper

Jasper

Welcome to 365tips.be. On this website you can read articles and experiences about Office 365 with focus on Microsoft Teams. Feel free to ask me a question and I will answer it in a blog post. Help others by giving feedback at the bottom of the articles. This blog is made in Dutch. The multilingual website is offered with best-effort machine translation.
0 0 votes
Product review
Subscribe
Please let us know if there are
guest
0 Reactions
Inline feedbacks
See all comments
0
Would love to know your thoughts, please leave a comment.x
()
x